Downloaded installed but not in menu

Support and queries relating to all previous versions of ZoneMinder
rapattack

Downloaded installed but not in menu

Post by rapattack »

Hi I have Ubuntu 6 and for some reason I can't see Zoneminder in any menu. I have changed the menu or edited the menu somehow with a shortcut but don't remember how to do it. Zoneminder shows that it is installed in synaptic. I downloaded and installed an unstable version from the zoneminder site.
Well I worked out how to edit the menu but zoneminder is not in there. I did some further reading and it seems there is more work to be done. Phew I am not that good with linux yet. Umm I would appreciate something more basic or step by step patient help if anyone has that type of patience. My only problem is that if I have to donwload something I will have to take the machine(laptop) to a local wifi hotspot as for some reason a couple of months ago the laptop stoped working with the home dsl connection. This has happened before and was such a nightmare that I decided to reinstall unbuntu. I also couldn't access the wifi thing either. I don't even remember how I got the net back on at anytime. It was just driving me nuts!
Diviner

Post by Diviner »

Zoneminder interface is a web based application, so you will need to have a web server (apache2) installed and configured on your ubuntu.

Take a look at this howto for zoneminder on ubuntu:
http://www.howtoforge.com/video_surveil ... der_ubuntu
rapattack

Yep

Post by rapattack »